Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

published typewriter I am thrilled to announce that my short story, “A Kind of Father” has just been published in the latest issue of TAYO Literary Magazine!

Published annually, TAYO Literary Magazine is the first literary journal dedicated to the creative expression of Filipino and Filipino American artists and writers. I can’t think of a better way to end this creative year of mine.

TAYO’s issues are beautifully rendered with striking and unique art and photography as well as poetry, essays and stories that offer different expressions of the Filipino identity. I’m thrilled and honored “A Kind of Father” was chosen for their latest issue.

“A Kind of Father” is a short story which employs 2nd person point of view. Initially I hadn’t intended it to be in 2nd Person but after I struggled for quite some time trying to find the narrative voice of the piece, I began to experiment with different points of view in an attempt to give the story (and myself) a fresh perspective. After revising the story to 2nd person POV, the language, style and voice opened up and flowed naturally from that moment on.

If you’re interested in reading my short story, you can view it on TAYO’s website, or better yet, if you’d like to support the wonderful efforts of TAYO Literay Magazine to advance the understanding of the diverse cultural identity of Filipinos, you can purchase the issue here at Lulu.com.

And what about you? How are you celebrating the end of this creative year?

christmas tree books

