Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

turkeyreadingOn this holiday, I want to thank my old and new friends, and my actual and adopted families for your love and continued support as I travel this unfamiliar and unpredictable literary road. Your faith and encouragement inspire me to keep going, to keep writing, and to keep submitting. I also want to thank those editors who have rejected my stories and yet took the time to offer advice, encouragement and invitations to submit again. Your words have been invaluable and make me realize I’m on the right road.

And because of all of you, 2012 is turning out to be a great literary year for me. Beginning last summer with my VONA workshop and connecting with other writers of color, I was encouraged to do a couple of readings, most notably, the PAWA reading at Litcrawl in October for which I am so grateful and still stunned to be among the caliber of writers I read with. Most recently, two of my stories have been accepted. Tayo Literary Magazine will be publishing my short story, “A Kind of Father” in their upcoming issue (#4), and Elsewhere has accepted my story “Reunion.” When the issues come out, I’ll post links to them on my From The Inkwell page.

I want to wish all my fellow writers out there a hearty, Happy Thanksgiving. On this day, what and who are you most thankful for on your own literary journey?

