Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I can’t believe October is already here. I meant to post this sooner. Maybe it’s the heat from this Indian summer that has me a little scattered. Every year, the University of San Francisco, my alma mater, hosts readings by distinguised authors such as Yiyun Li, Jane Smiley and Pam Houston in their Lone Mountain Reading SeriesOn Tuesday, October 2nd, Jo Ann Beard, author of Boys of My Youth and In Zanesville will be reading from her acclaimed work. The reading begins at 7:45pm and is being held at Fromm Hall, located at the corner of Golden Gate Ave. and Parker Ave. on USF’s main campus (2130 Fulton St.) The best part is that it’s free and open to the public. Get there early to get a good seat.

I’m also on USF’s MFA Alumni Council, and one of our goals, besides raising money for a new scholarship fund, is to create ways for MFA alums to reconnect and recreate that wonderful literary community we had while going through the program, beginning with a wine and cheese reception for alumni before the reading, from 6:30pm to 7:30 pm. MFA alumni are invited to catch up with faculty and friends and meet Jo Ann Beard. (Non-MFA alums are, of course, able to attend her reading after the reception). We want to celebrate the successes of our MFA community, so alums are also invited to bring a copy of a recent publication (book or journal) which includes their work to display at the reception. 

Then shortly after the reading, the big literary event of the year for San Francisco begins:

This year’s Litquake Festival will have over 150 events, including author readings, interviews and lectures. Most are either free or with a nominal fee. I’m now eagerly figuring out which Litquake events I’m going to. Each year it seems the San Francisco Litquake Festival gets bigger and better. And I’m not saying that just because I happen to be reading at Litcrawl on Saturday 10/13. 

Litcrawl, my favorite part of the festival, marks the culmination of Litquake with an evening of author readings by established as well as emerging writers, at a variety of venues in San Francisco:

Lit Crawl 2012 spread over three hours, will host live readings of poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and more in bookstores, bars, art galleries, restaurants, stores, cafés, laundromats, community spaces… even a police station and beekeeping supply store.

I’m inviting you to come to Barrio Fiesta, the reading that I’m doing for Litquake. I’m inviting you all now because 1) people are already starting to plan their Lit Crawl events and 2) I’d love to see you there. Also, we’re going to make some of Irma’s lumpia available to help us raise funds for PAWA (Philippine American Writers and Artists). Besides, lumpia makes everything fun.

Hope to see you and all my fellow writers there!

