Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My book review on Pati Navalta Poblete’s memoir, The Oracles: My Filipino Grandparents in America, has just been published on The Uncustomary Book Review. What I enjoy about writing these book reviews is the non-traditional approach; the focus is on the reviewer’s relationship with the book, so the review feels more like a piece of creative non-fiction. In this particular review, I discuss Poblete’s memoir as second-generation Filipina-American and include thoughts on my own familial relationships and the connection (and disconnection) between generations. If you are interested, you can read it here.

I also invite you to read my other book reviews on the Uncustomary Book Review site and lend your thoughts of these books or my reviews. And if you have a book recommendation, please don’t hesitate to share it.  I’m always looking for a good book to read and perhaps write a  review on it.

